Review: The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows


Wilhelmina has a hundred identities. She is a princess. When the Indigo Kingdom conquered her homeland, Wilhelmina and other orphaned children of nobility were taken to Skyvale, the Indigo Kingdom’s capital. Ten years later, they are the Ospreys, experts at stealth and theft. With them, Wilhelmina means to take back her throne. She is a … Continue reading Review: The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows

Review: Every Last Promise by Kristin Halbrook


Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Gayle Forman, Every Last Promise is a provocative and emotional novel about a girl who must decide between keeping quiet and speaking up after witnessing a classmate's sexual assault. Kayla saw something at the party that she wasn't supposed to. But she hasn't told anyone. No one … Continue reading Review: Every Last Promise by Kristin Halbrook

Starry Night by Isabel Gillies


I'm guilty of having bought this book mostly for the gorgeous cover and the title (Van Gogh is an inspiration.) It wasn't until later that I noticed the reviews on Goodreads are harsh. Way too harsh. This book? I enjoyed it. I thought it was lovely. Most of all, I enjoyed the writing style--which other … Continue reading Starry Night by Isabel Gillies

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman


Goodreads | Barnes and Noble Under the streets of London there's a place most people could never even dream of. A city of monsters and saints, murderers and angels, knights in armour and pale girls in black velvet. This is the city of the people who have fallen between the cracks. Richard Mayhew, a young … Continue reading Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

Cover Reveal: Thicker than Blood


Thicker Than Blood The Magicians series #3 by Lindsey R. Sablowski Release Date August 2014 Find on Goodreads! Pitch: Alaire Sencler is not the man he used to be. He left behind a foul and bloody past to be with the woman he loves, but the memories never allow him to forget what he did. While the White … Continue reading Cover Reveal: Thicker than Blood

Threats of Sky and Sea by Jennifer Ellision


find on Goodreads They know that fire can burn. But they've forgotten how water can scald. Thus ends Threats of Sky and Sea, a YA Fantasy by Jennifer Ellision--who is an awesome person, I might add, and allowed me to interview her here. As far as greedy kings go, this novel is home to one with an unusual upper … Continue reading Threats of Sky and Sea by Jennifer Ellision

Interview with Jennifer Ellision


I'm always interested to learn how other authors see things. It's a complex art, and though no two stories are the same, sometimes the craft itself has similar characteristics in everyone. I'm so glad Jennifer Ellision let me ask her some questions. You should check out her book here! Q: Your characters in Threats of Sky … Continue reading Interview with Jennifer Ellision

Book Review: Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly


Goodreads | Barnes and Noble Heroes never really die. We all make an impact on the world. Even if we don't make major history books, it doesn't change this truth: No life is an accident. You will meet obscure heroes in strange ways, and Revolution is one such tale. Andi Alpers meets an obscure hero by finding her diary, and is … Continue reading Book Review: Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly

Review: The Iron King by Julie Kagawa


This series is fascinating. The characters and concepts surprise me every time I visit. With a writing style that draws me in, I'm off on an adventure to a place with beautiful things--magical creatures, dragons, beautiful courts, and people who hold to promises no matter what. Don't make a promise in the land of faery … Continue reading Review: The Iron King by Julie Kagawa

PARIS by Edward Rutherfurd


This book was 800 pages long. It had been years since I even tried to read something so big. Even better, it covered different periods of time in Paris, following the same families and places. It is fantastic and completely swallowed me up.My mind is blown--how does one become patient enough to write something like … Continue reading PARIS by Edward Rutherfurd

Paper Towns by John Green


Spoiler Alert! Purchase Here When Margo Roth Spiegelman beckons Quentin Jacobsen in the middle of the night—dressed like a ninja and plotting an ingenious campaign of revenge—he follows her. Margo’s always planned extravagantly, and, until now, she’s always planned solo. After a lifetime of loving Margo from afar, things are finally looking up for Q … Continue reading Paper Towns by John Green

THE GODDESS TEST by Aimee Carter


*SPOILER WARNING. So there are a lot of 'fresh takes' on Greek myths. I like Cassandra Clare but she wouldn't be the first author I like to promote a fictional book about Greek mythology that's just way overrated. I didn't really expect much when I bought this book, but I was giving it a shot. Hopefully, … Continue reading THE GODDESS TEST by Aimee Carter